ShadowBox: Interactivity Toolkit Update – v1.2.0

ShadowBox: Interactivity Toolkit has been updated to version 1.2.0! This brings a variety of changes to the underlying code in the toolkit, in preparation to decouple ShadowBox into a separate framework.

The main changes include:

  • NEW! Module Configuration System – ShadowBox is evolving into a framework, and as such, will have a variety of planned (and unplanned) modules and integrations in the future. The new module system allows you to enable or disable specific modules as necessary for your project or scene(s).
  • Namespace Change – The primary namespace for ShadowBox has changed from Shadowed to ShadowBox. This better aligns with the directory structure and package name.
  • Directory Change – The primary directory for the Interactivity Toolkit module has changed.
  • NEW! Online Documentation – Online documentation for ShadowBox and its’ assorted modules can be found here. The documentation included therein is a work in progress, and is subject to change.
  • BUG SQUASH – Dome Colliders now properly work!
  • NEW! Extra Fields – Additional trigger options have appeared in both Dome Collider and Box Trigger Areas.
  • Editor Window and Inspector Theming – Reworked all existing editors and inspectors for ShadowBox and assorted modules to be more uniform and readable regardless of Unity Editor theme.

You can find ShadowBox: Interactivity Toolkit by clicking here!

Tim and Rick’s Mega List of Free Assets for Game Jams!

Note: These resources have varying licensing restrictions, but remain vastly open source.

  • Give credit where credit is due!

[Art]
Open Game Art: https://opengameart.org
Game-Icons.net: https://game-icons.net
Kenney Game Art: https://kenney.nl
Magica Voxel: https://ephtracy.github.io
Screaming Brain Studios: https://screamingbrainstudios.itch.io/
Blend Swap: https://www.blendswap.com/blends/blicense/CC-0
Poly Haven: https://polyhaven.com/
Open Pixel Project: https://www.openpixelproject.com/
3DModelsCC0: https://www.3dmodelscc0.com/

[Tools]
PhotoPea: https://www.photopea.com/
Inkscape: https://inkscape.org/
GIMP: https://www.gimp.org
Blender: https://www.blender.org
LibreSprite: https://libresprite.github.io/
Avatar Mixer: https://kenney.itch.io/avatar-mixer
Art Breeder: https://www.artbreeder.com
Trello: https://www.trello.com
Asana: https://asana.com

[Sounds]
GameSounds.XYZ: https://gamesounds.xyz
FreeSound: https://freesound.org

[Color Theory]
Adobe Color: https://color.adobe.com
Color Hunt: https://colorhunt.co

[Blogs and Posts]
SCAMPER: https://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/newCT_02.htm
Bronson Zgeb: https://www.bronsonzgeb.com
Knights of Unity: https://blog.theknightsofunity.com/
Alan Zucconi: https://www.alanzuconni.com
Harry Alisavakis: https://www.halisavakis.com
GameDev.TV: https://blog.gamedev.tv/

[Podcasts]
Eggplant: https://thespelunkyshowlike.libsyn.com/
Designer Notes: https://www.idlethumbs.net/designernotes/
Keith Burgun Games: https://keithburgun.net/category/podcast/
GDC Vault: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0JB7TSe49lg56u6qH8y_MQ

[Marketing]
Game Analytics: https://www.gameanalytics.com
EZGIF: https://ezgif.com

[Game Engines]
Construct 3: https://www.construct.net/en
Godot: https://godotengine.org

[Source Control]
GitLab: https://www.gitlab.com
Gitlab-UI: https://gitlab.com/gitlab-org/gitlab-ui
Sourcetree: https://www.atlassian.com/software/sourcetree

Interactivity Toolkit Integrations – Enviro and UniStorm

Good news, everyone! Are you ready to add an unfathomable amount of interactivity and immersion to your game worlds? Introducing Enviro for Interactivity Toolkit (read more) and UniStorm for Interactivity Toolkit.

Combine ShadowBox: Interactivity Toolkit with the powerful weather of Enviro or UniStorm with our new integrations! Your props can now interact with weather changes, time of day, or seasonal changes, adding to the plethora of options already available by default in ShadowBox: Interactivity Toolkit.